Reflected-light Rainbow

This image was taken during a violent storm that produced golf-ball-sizedhail as it passed over. The interesting thing about this reflected-lightbow is that there was no large body of water to produce the reflection. The source of this reflection was most probably a wet highway, the Trans-Canada Highway, west of Calgary. Since this part of the highway wason a hill, the reflected-light bow appears relatively high compared to theexpected position from a horizontal reflection surface.

Author: Alan Clark

Posted on May 15, 2011, in observations, rainbow and fogbow and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. vo said…

    I saw a similar reflected-light rainbow near of my house in a beautiful forest, the experience was great I saw it with my family.

  2. Alan Smith said…

    Thanks a lot for catching this nice shot.
    I like it so much keep posting such a nice post. I would like to few more snap which you have catched by your SLR Cam..

  3. I saw a RB during an extremely clear sky 8 miles away from the Pacific the sun was setting into itself. The RB had a 3D effect producing a lot of depth. I walked up to it when it morphed into the red spectrum & a few steps later the raindrops turned to liquid gold for 3 seconds, It vanished when the rain moved on into the trees. please notify me,I have many questions. I still get a chill thinking about this experience some 17 years ago, I have seen several other atmospheric oddities recently. One was a moving “snake” of static energy where I intercepted it across my arms, raising the hairs.

Leave a comment