Third and fourth order rainbow

In the late afternoon of July the 7th 2017 there were strong thunderstorms in the area around Berlin, Germany. AKM member Andreas Möller was driving trough heavy rainfall, when suddenly the sun came out. His report:

On my way home, I could observe a beautiful bright primary and secondary rainbow. It was still raining heavily and my intension was to observe the area towards the sun. Therefore I turned into a side street and stopped in front of an old industrial area.

Location details:

  • Ferdinand-Schultze-Straße 18, 13055 Berlin, Germany
  • Weather: Strong rain
  • Sun altitude: ~19°
  • Date: 2017-07-07
  • Time: 19:00 – 19:08 CEST

https://kachelmannwetter.com/de/regenradar/stadt-berlin/20170707-1705z.html

standort

I took a lot of pictures in hope to get the third and fourth order rainbow. My equipment was a Nikon D750 with a Tamron SP 15-30mm f/2.8 at 15mm. The rain was strong and I had problems cleaning my lens from waterdrops. Later at home, I started to process the pictures directly. Amazingly, I could discover the third and fourth order in almost all of the pictures I took.

The image processing did clearly point out a colorful third and fourth order rainbow.

Processing details:

  1. stack of 8 frames
  2. unsharp masking (USM)
  3. contrast and light adaption with Photoshop
  4. unsharp masking with Photoshop

usm_100_mid

Here is another image processed out of a single RAW file. (USM)

usm_100_DSC_2373

Posted on July 9, 2017, in observations, rainbow and fogbow. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment