Twinned rainbow from Russia

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Twinned rainbow in Siberia, Russia in Original and with unsharp mask. Photo: Ivanna Dark

In June 21, 2016 Ivanna Dark observed Yurga, Kemerovo region in Western Siberia, Russia an clear twinned rainbow: “At 19:45 local time (UTC + 7) began to fall to the ground a few large drops of very weak rain. I decided to look at the rainbow, because I know that it will appear in the presence of the sun. Imagine my surprise when I saw that the rainbow has a certain strangeness. It was not a Supernumerary Rainbows, but seen clearly, that the top part split into equal pieces. Later I found out the name of this phenomenon – Twinned Rainbow. Although the rainbow was very faint and lasted about two minutes, it did not stop to notice the duality of top.”

Posted on June 25, 2016, in rainbow and fogbow and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I witnessed a rainbow while the inverted sun sat into the sun over a hill 4 miles away. This RB had some very confusing qualities. It appeared to be a bow behind a bow, stereo optic RBs trying to focus together only 75′ away! As I slowly walked up to, it stopped moving away! This holographic-like RB actually got skinnier as I got closer. Within arm’s length I noticed 3 drops, 3/4″ dia. showing an inverted pyramid inside! The crystal-like mechanisms were radiating off the edges, a RB color different in each! I stepped forward & everything was tinted red for 25′! This is where it gets really interesting, with my face practically pressed against the backdrop of trees, the rain changed into a mass of golden sparkling wonder, surrounding me for 3 seconds. The rain receded into the trees & quickly extinguished the golden light. It rained in a small 100 yard area just on top of that hill! The Pacific was 8miles away, the hills the sun set into, 4 miles away. The whole event lasted 2 minutes! It really seemed to me that this event happened only where I was, a very narrow, focused cone of view. Go to Rays Through a Large Raindrop – Atmospheric Optics website & you will find a model of a large drop where you can adjust the angle of sunlight entering. Adjust to 8 degrees & you’ll find the secondary bow is directed away causing a RB on RB. A stereo optic RB!

  2. Please call 707 887 2190

Leave a Reply

