Rainbow season started early with a twinned primary

While homeward bound from work a small rainshower started to pour in bright sunlight and I looked the the north and got a flat looking rainbow. I was ride-sharing when this happened and we pulled over and I got some photos and the bow looked unusual. Upon downloading the photos I applied unsharp mask and noticed the primary was twinned primary bow. This is the first rainbow for me this year. I would of expected to see one in the spring not February!

Author: Michael Ellestad

Posted on May 26, 2011, in observations, rainbow and fogbow and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Claudia Hinz said…

    Congratulation! Have you paid attention by accident to the size of rain shower droplets?

    Here are winter rainbows not unusual. In on day of january I observed a 4 hour remained rainbow marathon … but only with normally rainbows:

    http://www.meteoros.de/php/viewtopic.php?t=4908

    Best wishes
    Claudia

  2. Michael Ellestad said…

    The raindrops were on the fat side Claudia because when they hit the windshield they made a nice splat upon impact. I know one thing Claudia I hope 2007 will be prolific with atmospheric optics and halos. I hope for more halos I one day got 5 halo at once and you may have saw in the halo reports blog.

Leave a Reply

